ISSN: 1389-1359
ISSN: 574-096X (electronic)

About this Series

The Yearbook of International Humanitarian Law is a leading annual publication devoted to the study of international humanitarian law. It provides a truly international forum for high-quality, peer-reviewed academic articles focusing on this crucial branch of international law. Distinguished by contemporary relevance, the Yearbook of International Humanitarian Law bridges the gap between theory and practice and serves as a useful reference tool for scholars, practitioners, military personnel, civil servants, diplomats, human rights workers and students.

For the Authors' Guidelines and the Correspondents’ Reports (available online since YIHL 14, 2011), please see under Documentation at the top of the page.

Editorial Board

General Editors

  • Prof. Heike Krieger (Editor-in-Chief), Free University of Berlin
  • Prof. Pablo Kalmanovitz (Editor), Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México (ITAM), Mexico City
  • Prof. Eliav Lieblich (Editor), Tel Aviv University

Managing Editors

Editorial Assistant

Board of Advisors to the Editorial Board

  • Dr. Louise Arimatsu, LSE Centre for Women, Peace and Security
  • Dr. William Boothby, Geneva Centre for Security Policy
  • Prof. Geoffrey Corn, Texas Tech University School of Law
  • Dr. Hanne Cuyckens, Leiden University College
  • Dr. Cordula Droege, International Committee of the Red Cross
  • BGen. Prof. Paul Ducheine, Netherlands Defence Academy/University of Amsterdam
  • Prof. Robin Geiß, United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research
  • Prof. Wolff Heintschel von Heinegg, Europa Universität Viadrina, Frankfurt (Oder)
  • Prof. Dr. Jann K. Kleffner LL.M., Swedish Defence University
  • Prof. Dr. Nils Melzer, International Committee of the Red Cross/ University of Glasgow
  • Prof. Dr. Héctor Olasolo, University of El Rosario, Colombia/The Hague University of Applied Sciences
  • Dr. Christophe Paulussen, T.M.C. Asser Instituut
  • Jelena Pejic, Lieber Institute West Point/Just Security
  • Dr. Kinga Tibori-Szabó, UN Iraq
  • BGen Kenneth W. Watkin (Ret’d)/Former Judge Advocate General, Canada
  • Prof. Dr. Gentian Zyberi, Norwegian Centre for Human Rights

Board of Recommendation

  • HRH Princess Margriet of the Netherlands, Honorary President of the Netherlands Red Cross
  • Prof. Tim McCormack, University of Tasmania/Special Adviser on International Humanitarian Law to the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court
  • Prof. em. Dr. Horst Fischer, University of Leiden
  • Dr. Dieter Fleck, Honorary President of the International Society for Military Law and the Law of War
  • Prof. Terry D. Gill, University of Amsterdam
  • H.E. Judge Christopher Greenwood, Master at Magdalene College, University of Cambridge
  • Dr. Theodor Meron, Former Judge of the International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals
  • H. E. Judge Dr. Fausto Pocar, International Court of Justice
  • Prof. Dr. Michael N. Schmitt, University of Reading