Migration & Borders

This Working Group provides an active network for migration scholars at any stage in their academic career to share knowledge on theoretical, methodological, and empirical insights, learn from and engage with other scholars, and promote public outreach. 

In addition to organizing a panel at the annual NNHRR toogdag, the Working Group regularly organizes internal and external events, which are often co-developed by the coordinators and Working Group members. One of the aims of such events is to collectively discuss thematic or methodological issues related migration, borders, and human rights, often guided by the respective interests of Working Group members. Also, members may use this platform to present their work to others and receive feedback from peers. Typically, such events further involve social get-togethers, allowing our members to connect and network with one another in a more informal manner.

In addition, the Working Group has its own newsletter, updating its members not only on the internal activities, but also on relevant external events or publications of members.


Irina Lou Fehr, PhD candidate at Tilburg University
Kris van der Pas, PhD at International and European Law Department and Sociology of Law and Migration Law Department, Radboud University

Working group members

Bahija Aarrass - Assistant Professor, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Mortiz Baumgärtel - Assistant Professor, Utrecht University & University College Roosevelt
Michiel Bot - Associate Professor, Tilburg University

Jordan Dez - PhD candidate at Amsterdam Centre for Migration and Refugee Law, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Mary Dickson - PhD candidate, Radboud University
Elif Durmus - PhD researcher at Utrecht University, Cities of Refuge project
Lukasz Dziedzic - Assistant Professor in Philosophy of Law, Maastricht University 
Melanie Fink, Postdoctoral Researcher at the Europa Institute of Leiden University, Assistant Professor at Leiden University
Mariana Gkliati - Assistant Professor, Radboud University
Lynn Hillary - University of Amsterdam

Narin Idriz - Researcher at the T.M.C. Asser Instituut
Zeynep Kasli - Assistant Professor, Erasmus University Rotterdam 
Jessica Klüger - PhD candidate at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and JLU Giessen
Isabella Leroy - PhD candidate at Amsterdam Centre for Migration and Refugee Law, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Sara Miellet - PhD researcher at Utrecht University, Cities of Refuge project

Jackson Oldfield - PhD researcher at Amsterdam Centre for International Law, University of Amsterdam
Flavia Patanè - PhD researcher and tutor at the Faculty of Law of Maastricht University 
Annick Pijnenburg - Assistant Professor, Radboud Universiteit
Amélie Poméon - PhD candidate at Centre for Migration Law, International and European Law Department and Management Faculty, Radboud University
Stephanie Rap, Assistant Professor, University of Amsterdam
Conny Rijken - Professor of Human Trafficking and Globalization, Tilburg University
Tihomir Sabchev - PhD candidate at Utrecht University, Cities of Refuge project

Mariia Shaidrova - PhD candidate, Tilburg University
Karin de Vries - Associate Professor of Constitutional and Administrative Law, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Imen El Amouri - PhD candidate, Tilburg University 
Samuel Ballin - PhD candidate, Radboud University Nijmegen

Rory Sugrue - PhD candidate, Tilburg University