Mission & Governance

The T.M.C. Asser Instituut’s mission is to further the development of international and European law in such a way that it serves the cultivation of trust and respect in the global, regional, national and local societies in which it operates.

In view of this mission and building on the academic legacy of our predecessors, the board and staff of the institute strive for continuous dissemination of knowledge and results of their research, through courses, conferences and publications. Scholarship and knowledge dissemination are integrated to stimulate intellectual enquiry and lay the foundation for impact in the real legal world. In close contacts and interaction with our colleagues at other institutions based in The Hague and farther away, we aim for a role as the preeminent centre for international and European law, that responds to changing social realities for people living in interconnected cities, regions and societies.

Governance Structure of the T.M.C. Asser Instituut

The T.M.C. Asser Instituut is a foundation with the University of Amsterdam as its governing body. It is an inter-university institute with a modern governance structure and a close working relationship with the University of Amsterdam (UvA – ACIL) on public international law.

The foundation has the following bodies:

  • The Governing Board – Het Algemeen Bestuur
  • The Executive Board – Het Dagelijks Bestuur
  • The Advisory Council – De Raad van Advies

The T.M.C. Asser Instituut has a one-tier board.

The Governing Board is comprised of five persons. The President, two members of the Board/Directors and two Non-Executive Board members namely the Dean of the Faculty of Law of the University of Amsterdam (Prof. Mr. P.A. Nollkaemper) and the Dean of another Law Faculty drawn from one of the stakeholder Dutch universities (currently Prof. Mr. Dr. W.S.R. Stoter of the Erasmus School of Law).

The President Prof. Dr. Ernst Hirsch Ballin, members of the board and directors Prof. Dr. Janne E. Nijman and Gert Grift MSc are the executive members of the board.

Remuneration of board members

None of the board members receives any remuneration or compensation for their board-membership, or to attend board meetings. The president of the board, the academic director, and the managing director make up the executive board of the institute. They are employed by the University of Amsterdam, and seconded to the Institute. Their remuneration, like that of all Asser staff, is governed by the Collective Employment Agreement (CAO) for the Dutch Universities (VSNU).